Kenya and Korea Launch Konza EIPP 3rd Year Projects for Technological Innovation Partnership

Eng. John Kipchumba Tanui leads Kenya’s collaboration with Korea for Konza’s development and innovation.

Eng. John Kipchumba Tanui, MBS, Principal Secretary of Kenya’s State Department of ICT and Digital Economy, spearheaded the launch of the Konza Technopolis Economic Innovation Partnership Program (EIPP) 3rd Year Projects in collaboration with Korea Trade-Investment Promotion Agency (KOTRA).

Highlighting the longstanding collaboration between Kenya and Korea across various sectors such as ICT, infrastructure, healthcare, water, and education, the program aims to bolster Konza’s development.

The 3rd Year of EIPP focuses on establishing essential infrastructure, including an incubation complex, smart farm, and diverse energy sources, aligning with Konza’s green transition and energy independence goals. Notable milestones include industrial clusters, smart city development, and the Konza Digital Media City.

Aligned with Kenya’s Digital Transformation Agenda, the initiative aims to propel Kenya into a digital economy through projects like fiber optic infrastructure development, innovation hubs establishment, and WIFI hotspot provision nationwide, empowering youth and enhancing government service accessibility.

The launch ceremony witnessed the presence of key figures including Director KOTRA, Dr. Park Chul Ho, Acting Ambassador of the Korean Embassy in Kenya, Mr. Nam Sang Kyoo, Konza Board Chair Prof. Raphael Munavu, CEO John Paul Okwiri, Principal KAIST Prof. Jennifer Khamasi, and representatives from various government departments.

More News