Arabsat Sees Shifts in the Management

In their recent announcement, Arabsat sees the selection of H.E Eng. Haitham Al-Ohali, as the Chairman of Arabsat Board of Directors along with assigning Dr. Badr Al-Suwaidan, Chief Technical Officer, to head Arabsat.

The Arab Satellite Communications Corporation (Arabsat) announced, during the Board of Directors Meeting on Wednesday 25th August 2021, the selection of H.E Eng. Haitham Al-Ohali, Vice Minister at Ministry of Communications and Information Technology in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia as the new Chairman of Arabsat Board of Directors, accepting the resignation of CEO Eng. Khalid bin Ahmed Balkheyour  and assigning Dr. Badr bin Nasser Al-Suwaidan, Chief Technical Officer, to head the Organization. 

Before joining Arabsat, Dr. Badr Al-Suwaidan worked as a supervisor of the Institute of Research and Space in King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology in Saudi Arabia and participated in several programs and space missions, including working on the first Saudi Geo-orbiting satellite SG1 in cooperation with Arabsat, and the Saudi satellite “Sat 4” in cooperation with the US Space Agency NASA.

“Arabsat succeeded in embodying the spirit of the Arab League Charter and strengthening the ties & the joint Arab work among the Arab League states economically, culturally and in other developmental fields. Also, since its establishment in 1976, Arabsat has succeeded in broadcasting the message of the Arab world to more than 170 million viewers in more than 100 countries around the world. I am looking forward to working together with the members of the Board and the Executive Management to complete Arabsat mission.”

Eng. Haitham Al-Ohali, H.E, the Chairman of the Board of Directors

Board of Directors members expressed their thanks to Dr. Nasser bin Saleh Al-Hejailan, the former Chairman of Arabsat Board of Directors, for his work, efforts and the distinguished achievements that were achieved during his presidency of the Board. While, Arabsat team thanked the former CEO, Eng. Khaled Balkheyour, for his successful accomplishments during his presidency.

More News